Gluten is a group of proteins found in certain grains, such as wheat, rye, and barley. (Read More)
It helps to maintain food shape by providing elasticity and hydration. It also allows the bread to grow and provides a chewy texture.
Ditch the Gluten, Improve Your Health?
Although gluten is safe for most people, it should be avoided by people with conditions such as celiac disease or gluten sensitivity to prevent health side effects.
Many foods contain gluten ingredients, so it’s essential for people who cannot use them to check these ingredients’ labels closely.
Fruits and Vegetables
All fresh fruits and vegetables are naturally gluten-free products. However, some processed fruits and vegetables may contain gluten, which is sometimes added for flavoring or thickening.
Ingredients for gluten that can be added to processed fruits and vegetables include hydrolyzed wheat protein, modified food starch, malt, and maltodextrin.
Fruits and Vegetables to Eat
Although the list below is not exhaustive, it does provide some examples of fresh fruits and vegetables that you can enjoy on a gluten-free diet.
- Citrus fruits, including oranges and grapefruit
- Cruciferous vegetables, including cauliflower and broccoli
- Greens, such as spinach, kale, and Swiss chard
- Starchy vegetables, including potatoes, corn, and squash
- Bell peppers
- green beans
Some whole grains contain gluten, while others are naturally gluten-free.
It is essential to check the food label when buying whole grains. Even gluten-free whole grains can be contaminated with gluten, mainly if they are processed in the same way that food contains gluten.
For example, oats are often processed in facilities that also process wheat, causing cross-contamination. For this reason, you should make sure that the oats you buy are gluten-free.
Gluten-free Whole Grains
- Brown rice
- Wild rice
- Oats (make sure they’re labeled gluten-free as they may be contaminated with gluten during processing.)
Grains to Avoid
- Wheat, all varieties (whole wheat, wheat berries, graham, bulgur, farro, farina, durum, Kamut, bromated flour, spelled, etc.)
These gluten-containing grains are often used to make products like bread, crackers, pasta, cereals, baked goods, and snack foods.
Many foods contain protein, including animal and plant sources. In addition, most are naturally gluten-free diets.
However, ingredients that contain gluten, such as soy sauce, flour, and malt vinegar, are often used as fillers or flavors. They can be added to sauces, dressings, and marinades that are usually found in protein sources.
- Beans (beans, lentils, peas, peanuts)
- Nuts and seeds
- Red meat (fresh beef, pork, mutton, bison)
- Poultry (fresh chicken, turkey)
- Seafood (fresh fish, scallops, shellfish)
- Traditional soy foods (tofu, thyme, edema, etc.)
Proteins to Double-Check
- Processed meats, such as hot dogs, pepperoni, hot dogs, salami, and bacon
- Meat substitutes, such as veggie burgers
- Cold or cold
- Ground meat
- Proteins that have been added to sauces or seasonings
- Ready-to-eat proteins, such as microwaves, are found in safe TV dinners
Proteins to Avoid
- Any meat, poultry, or fish that is bread
- Proteins that are mixed with wheat-based soy sauce
Most dairy products are naturally gluten-free. However, those that are flavorful and have extra ingredients should always be double-checked for gluten.
Some common gluten-containing ingredients added to dairy products include condensate, malt, and modified food starch.
Read Next – Balanced Diet: A Healthier Life
Gluten-free Dairy Products
- Butter and ghee
- Cottage cheese
- Sour cream
Dairy Products to Double-Check
- Flavored milk and yogurt
- Processed cheese products, such as cheese sauce and spreads
- Ice cream, which is sometimes combined with gluten-containing supplements
Fats and Oils
Fats and oils are naturally gluten-free. However, gluten-containing supplements can be added to fats and oils for flavor and thickening in some cases.
Gluten-free Fats and Oils
- Butter and ghee
- Olive and olive oil
- Avocados and avocado oil
- Coconut oil
- Vegetable and seed oils, including sesame oil, canola oil, and sunflower oil.
Fats and Oils to Double-Check
- Cooking spray
- Oil with extra flavors or spices
Read Next – Healthy Nutrition
What The Heck Is Gluten?
Read Next – The 15 Best Multivitamins for Men
Pamela's Products Gluten Free Honey Graham Crackers, 7.5 oz
Jovial Farfalle Gluten-Free Pasta | Whole Grain Brown Rice Farfalle Pasta | USDA Certified Organic | Non-GMO | Lower Carb | Kosher | Made in Italy | 12 oz
Tate's Bake Shop Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies, 7 oz
Snyder's of Hanover Gluten Free Pretzel Sticks, 8 Oz
$8.44 in stock
King Arthur, Measure for Measure Flour, Certified Gluten-Free, Non-GMO Project Verified, Certified Kosher, 3 Pounds
King Arthur Gluten-Free Pancake Mix,15 oz
Snyder's of Hanover Gluten Free Pretzel Sticks, 100 Calorie Individual Packs, 24 Count
$27.99 in stock
UNREAL Dark Chocolate Coconut Bars | 3g Sugar | Certified Vegan, Gluten Free, Fair Trade, Non-GMO | No Sugar Alcohols or Soy | 3 Bags
Annie's Organic Original Crispy Snack Bars, Gluten Free, 3.9 oz, 5 ct
$4.28 in stock